Review: The Colour of Magic

The Colour of Magic
The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I had a hunch that Pratchett’s sort of funny wouldn’t work for me, but I wanted to know what all the fuss was about. I was curious.

Well, it’s not for me. I really just don’t get silly humor. While others are laughing I’m still working through the contradictions present in the premise of the joke. I didn’t laugh, not once. However, I can totally see how fans of that kind of absurdity would fall in love with the series.

Without the laughs, there wasn’t much else to pull me forward. The silly plot meandered like silly plots do, and the characters made fools of themselves like those sorts of characters do. I don’t know, I had to drag myself across every page until I reach THE END. Then, I apparently had to do some more dragging. 😉

View all my reviews

Leave a comment